Jul 22, 2020

15 Scientists from 8 Countries are on the Shortlist for the

Bizclik Editor
2 min

MOSCOW, July 21, 2020 /PRNewswire/ -- The short list of the Global Energy Prize includes 15 scientists from the USA, China, Germany, Italy, Australia, Japan, Greece and Denmark. The prize winners will be announced on September 8 following a private session of the International Award Committee.

In total, 233 nominations from 20 countries of the world were submitted in 2020, and the number of unique applications for nominees was 78. In 2019, 39 unique applications were submitted from 12 countries.

Since 2019, the prize has been awarded in three nominations: Conventional Energy, Non-Conventional Energy, and New Ways of Energy Application.

This time, the number of nominations was almost equal: Non-Conventional Energy - 29, Conventional Energy - 27, New Ways of Energy Application - 22. 

The short list for the Global Energy Prize 2020 looks like this:

Conventional Energy Nomination:

Richard J. Goldstein (USA) - Heat power engineering

Demin Wang (China) - Exploration, production, transportation and processing of energy resources

Carlo Rubbia (Italy) - Nuclear energy

Zhao Yang Dong (Australia) - Electric power industry

Jinliang He (China) - Electric power industry


Non-Conventional Energy Nomination:

Peidong Yang (USA) - Renewable energy

Adolf Goetzberger (Germany) - Renewable energy

Jay Keasling (USA) - Bioenergetics

Piotr Zelenay (USA) - Fuel cells and hydrogen energy

Masahiro Watanabe (Japan) - Fuel cells and hydrogen energy


New Ways of Energy Application Nomination:

Eli Yablonovitch (USA) - Efficient energy use

Nikolaos Hatziargyriou (Greece) - Efficient energy use

Xinghuo Yu (Australia) - Efficient energy use

Andrew Bruce Holmes (Australia) - New materials used in modern energy engineering

Henrik Lund (Denmark) - Efficient energy use

The Global Energy Prize is an award for outstanding scientific research and technology development projects in the field of energy that have contributed to the efficiency and environmental safety of energy sources on the Earth.

The Global Energy Prize stimulates the development of the science of energy and underlines the importance of international cooperation.

According to IREG Observatory, the Global Energy Prize is in the TOP 99 of the most prestigious and prominent international awards.

Since 2003, 39 scientists from 13 countries: Australia, Austria, Great Britain, Denmark, Iceland, Canada, Russia, USA, Ukraine, France, Switzerland, Sweden and Japan have become laureates of the prize. In 2019, the award fund amounted to 39 million roubles.


Cision View original content:http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/15-scientists-from-8-countries-are-on-the-shortlist-for-the-global-energy-prize-301096161.html

SOURCE The Global Energy Association

Share article

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Receive the latest updates and news
Exclusive preview